Quebec Subaru Dealer Association

Red Hot SRTC Victory in Baie des Chaleurs

17 July 2017

  • Subaru Rally Team Canada takes top spot in Baie des Chaleurs, keeping Subaru on top in the championship race
  • Five Subaru vehicles finish in the top ten to help extend Subaru’s lead in the Manufacturer’s Championship

(MISSISSAUGA) — Subaru Canada, Inc. (SCI) is thrilled to announce that Subaru Rally Team Canada (SRTC) claimed victory during the Canada Day long weekend, with a convincing win at Rallye Baie des Chaleurs. Antoine L’Estage and co-driver Alan Ockwell were able to open up a lead on day one, which they were able to maintain despite some minor setbacks on the notoriously rough New Richmond terrain. Overcoming driveline issues early on, the team battled back on day two, putting on a charge to extend their lead, finishing over three minutes ahead of the second place team.

“It’s a very tough rally and it shows how good the Subaru STI was” noted L’Estage. “There’s no big strategy at an event like this, you go hard and hope everything will go well.”

The win also vaulted L’Estage into a tie for first place in the driver’s championship, providing maximum points in a very tight race for the top position. In addition, a total of five Subaru vehicles finished in the top ten, including hometown heroes André and René Leblanc who joined SRTC on the podium after placing third. These strong results helped open up Subaru’s lead in the Manufacturer’s championship, providing a comfortable cushion in the hunt for a record 13th title.

Up next the circuit rolls in to Montpellier, QC for the Rallye Défi September 7-9. This race marks the midpoint of the 2017 season and a win would help SRTC solidify their lead in the hotly contested championship race.



Victory for SRTC in Baie des Chaleurs

12:07:14.02015 Subaru STI4wOL’Estage – Ockwell
22:10:28.72003 Mitsubishi Lancer4wOBesner – Joyal
32:14:11.42005 Subaru WRX4wOLeblanc – Leblanc
42:18:13.92004 Subaru STI4wOArsenault – Bélanger
52:18:55.52005 Mitsubishi Evo 84wPdLaverdière – Trudel
62:19:08.52008 Subaru STI4wOStanik – Burnley
72:22:02.92009 Mitsubishi Evo X4wODjordjevic – Hall
82:23:30.02004 Subaru STI4wPSpencer – Ma
92:23:35.32015 Citroen DS3 R54wOTrivino – Hernandez
102:23:36.12008 Mitsubishi Evo X4wOPanjabi – Swann